Roommates…

photo 5-1

This is one of the scariest parts of starting college. So many of us are scared that we’ll get stuck with someone that we have nothing in common with, someone who we will have to live with for a year, and that seems like an unbearable concept. Luckily, second year we get to choose our roommates and if you get as lucky as I have, your best friend will become your roommate.

My roommate? Now thats an interesting topic…Marley and I were not quite the biggest fans of each other freshmen year. We met the summer before our freshmen year at dance auditions, when we both made our school’s dance team. Even with having a love of dance in common it wasn’t best friends at first sight. Marley had dyed her hair blue that summer, and me, being my slightly judgemental self told my mom that I was NOT going to be friends with someone who had blue hair, because it was doubtful we had anything in common. My mom, just like all mothers, told me not to judge a book by it’s cover and that I needed to give her a chance because we would be spending a lot of time together due to dance. Marley had similar ideas of me, as she was moving in and caught a conversation or two I had been having with my family. Needless to say, neither one of us ever expected to be friends with the other…not to mention become best friends.

I’m not even sure when it happened, somewhere between awkward meals together during preseason, and spending countless hours in the studio, Marley has become my best friend at school. It’s crazy, because it’s true what we thought, we don’t have all that much in common, I love country music and she’s into bands I’ve never even heard of… but we kind of just mesh.

Eventually, she has started to listen to country with me and I’m open to a lot more things because of her as well, but its crazy to think that a little over a year ago things weren’t this way. This year has been a little hectic, between work, boyfriends and endless amounts of schoolwork, but she is still my best friend. Its often that we find ourselves taking crazy adventures, making ridiculous snapchat stories of each other, or singing to High School Musical at 2 am. We’re two people who tell each other everything and theres nothing the other can hide. Sometimes its a real pain, and we drive each other insane but I wouldn’t want it any other way.

So while the idea of a roommate can seem like the scariest part of college, it can also be the most rewarding one. With any luck you’ll meet someone who you never expected, and they will become your best friend. You’ll find your crazy other half, the one person that makes the craziness of life a little easier to swallow.

xoxo Kenna

2015-04-25 23.20.14

Leave a Reply

