This is it

I’m on my way to work the other morning and a Michael Jackson song comes on. While usually this phenomenon wouldn’t strike me as anything but ordinary, lately I’m on my toes whenever I hear his music. I’ve been in the process of writing a research paper about his successes and effects on the pop world as we know it today so hearing him excites me.

Not only that, but between you and me, I believe he was an incredible human being. All allegations and selfharm aside he was one hell of an artist. & I’ll tell you a secret, Personally, I’m a little bit obsessed. Whenever I have a project that I can tweak in the slightest, he’s my topic. As a dancer, I’m just so fascinated by his work, I love studying him.

But anyways. I’m driving and MJ comes on, I quite literally jam out to his song and then on comes Usher…and it just makes me laugh. One of the articles I’d read recently discussed this very idea. The idea that artists like Usher, JT, and even Chris Brown have evolved and become what they are today by studying Jackson.

As I listen, I hear it, the high pitched shreeks, the sounds that remind me that of “shamone” (What does that mean anyways?) and I realize that he really was the king of pop. Just as Elvis was the king of rock and roll, and Tim McGraw is our country superstar, Jackson was the pop star. He was the birth of Pop as we know it today; we have him to thank.

So even though you may not be a huge fan, or even like him at all, I ask you to take a closer look. Do some research and find the reasons behind the things he did. What were the underlying causes? Who was Michael Jackson?

Michael Jackson - File Photos By Kevin Mazur
VARIOUS, VARIOUS – JUNE 25: Michael Jackson performs in concert circa 1986. (Photo by Kevin Mazur/WireImage)

xox Kenna ❤

Leave a Reply

