You are my inspiration✨

Have you ever met someone who inspires you?

Maybe you haven’t even met this person, but you just saw them and thought, “Wow, this person is incredible. They have so much strength and bravery, and I aspire to be just like them.”

—>This has happened to me twice now in the past few months and I just knew that I had to share my experiences with others, to show the world just how incredible of an experience it was.

As most of you know, working out has become a passion of mine over the past year and a half and I’m usually at the gym or completing a work out about 6-7 times a week. For me, working out has become not only a hobby, but a lifestyle and an outlet. Whenever I am upset or need to reflect on life I hit the gym, this is my place, as I believe we all have.

Anyway, about a week ago I was at the Planet Fitness by Chris’ house, going through my BBG workout on the mats like always, and I overheard a conversation. I was not trying to ease -drop, but the conversation was very obviously one to be out in the open, as an older gentleman complimented another man on his progress. He said that he ‘looked good and to keep up the good work.’ To this, the second man replied with a warm thank you and that now he was working on developing muscle. As most females would at the mention of a muscular man, I looked up from my plank and instantly recognized the second man.

About a month or two earlier I had met this man, as I was cleaning my mat. He had said hello to me, asked how my day was going and what my name was. I replied to him with a smile and told him that it was going well, that my name was McKenna and asked how he was. We talked for only a brief moment after that, and as he walked away I realized that he had a handicap.

Intrigued by his values and apparent love of the gym, I watched as he continued his workout, and that’s when I realized how much of an inspiration this man was. While you could tell that some things we a bit more difficult for him, than for others, it did not seem to take away his joy. He carried on with a great big smile on his face, and like all of us, continued on the road to reaching his goals.

In this way he was no different, he knew what he wanted and exactly how he would achieve it. Putting myself in his shoes, I’m not sure I’d have the strength he does. I can’t say that I would want to go the extra mile, to workout and better myself, and this is where I knew that he was much much braver than I am. He is my inspiration; my inspiration every time I ‘don’t feel like working out.’

While this man’s story may be one of a kind, he is not alone. He is one of the many individuals in and around my community who day in and day out are trying their best to succeed, to make themselves better, to reach their goal. Physical differences or not, these are the people who inspire me. These are the people who’s stories I love to hear; their fight to get to where they are.

The man I met at the gym is someone I will always admire, and  honestly I look forward to the next time we come across each other. He might not remember me, but I will always remember him; he is my inspiration

xox Kenna ❤

Leave a Reply

