“See You Later”

I believe in the power of new beginnings…

I believe in traveling to new places & meeting new people. I believe in the magic of a first kiss and the heartaches of a goodbye. I believe that life gives us ups and downs to challenge us, proving that we are only given the things we can handle. -Showing us how strong we truly are.

As I reflect on my weekend in Alaska, I’m realizing all that I’ve left behind. All the things I had spent so much time planning, now just in the past. It’s crazy how fast time flies when you are spending it with someone who means so much to you. This weekend made me realize I’ve never been happier to have followed my heart. It led me to an amazing place & into the arms of an even more amazing individual…

I’ll admit, it was A LOT of traveling for only a few days, but it was nice to get out of the comfort of Worcester and see another state that I’d otherwise have no reason to visit.

Alaska is an interesting place I’ll start with that…

It’s cold, but not as cold as we all assume. Hearing “it’s a different type of cold” I was definitely skeptical, “Yeah okay…Cold is cold,” was my response…& it was cold –but it was doable.

I landed Friday night in Anchorage at about 8:30 pm their time and had one last flight separating myself from Fairbanks…That’s when I started getting anxious. Not till then did I start thinking “What the hell have I done?” “Am I actually in Alaska right now?” Yes, yes I was & unfortunately for my head, which was telling me to turn the hell around, I couldn’t. My heart had won another battle.

I will never forget the small contagious smile and open arms I was welcomed with upon my arrival into Fairbanks. Not to mention I’ve never had a guy open a car door for me -he definitely earned the first impression rose for that ;P

The next three days were filled with new experiences, in new places with new people. I did things that I’ve never even thought of doing, things both inside and out of my comfort zone. I was living in the moment and took advantage of every second I had in this new place, with someone who seamlessly made me happier as the days went on.

The biggest thing for me was that I was able to drop an incredibly large wall and went ice skating…Anyone who knows me, knows that this is something I’ve wanted to do for as long as I can remember, but the idea of making a fool of myself in front of a guy has never been one that I enjoyed…This time I wasn’t given much of a choice and, well, we went ice skating. Did I make a fool of myself? Oh DEFINITELY, but when we were together I was able to forget about any insecurities I had and I was content. No matter how silly I looked.

Walking away and getting on the plane last night was something I never expected to be as difficult as it was. I find myself already missing being in his presence and the contentment I felt there. The distance is definitely the hardest part of this, but how bad can if be if all the other pieces of the puzzle fit together so nicely?

I’ve learned that sometimes you have to follow your heart, despite what your head is thinking because how else will we find the exceptional things in life? Furthermore, I’ve learned that I want to be with someone who lights a fire inside of me, someone who makes me excited to do the simple things like watch a new Netflix series, or drive around with no purpose. I want to be with someone who I know can quite easily become my best friend because I trust them more than makes sense. I want to be with someone who makes me feel like a princess, but also isn’t afraid to call me out when I’m being a brat. Someone who wants to go the extra mile right along side me.

 

~For now I’ll say “See you later”

xox Kenna ❤

 

951c3c0ba4a03b71affd9d49971feaa1

Leave a Reply

