Mind. over. Matter.

Only 32 days till I leave for BCT!
Oklahoma here I comeeee

Hey loves,

It’s definitely been a while! With attending drill weekends, getting everything in order for the end of the semester (AND to graduate in DECEMBER!!), finalizing my up-coming trip and getting everything done to leave for basic in a month…life has definitely been crazy to say the least!

Yup… 32 days as of tonight and I’ll be on the plane to Fort Sill, Oklahoma. I can’t believe it has come so fast! I feel like it was just yesterday that I was waiting around hour after hour at MEPs, just to see if I was eligible to join the army, but now I’ll actually be leaving in about a month. Time sure does fly!

Everyone keeps asking the same question; “Are you nervous?” others; “Aren’t you scared? I keep hearing you say how excited you are and I can’t help but wonder, ‘how is she not scared?‘”

you want the truth?

——-> Mind. Over. Matter

I can’t let myself be scared or nervous. If I think about the challenges and new things I am going to face with fear, how will I ever accomplish anything?

The military is all about challenging you with things that you never thought you could do & I’m excited for that. I know that I will face both physical and mental challenges while I’m away, but I also know that in the end I will come back a better person than I left. It’s not going to be easy, but I know that it will be worth it.

I am so grateful for all the amazing individuals I have already met who have given me insight on their time spent in the military. I’ve heard some great stories and you’ve given me different ideas of what to expect. Above all else I know that I have a lot of new friends and family to come back to, who I can tell my stories to, and who I’ll be able to continue this journey with.

You never really know the kind of people who are out there until you enlist in the military. I have met some of the best people already, and I can’t wait to see how those friendships grow.

So no. I am not scared. I am not nervous. I am excited & I am ready to embark on a new chapter in my life. I accept the challenges & I stand ready to become and American Soldier ❤

xox

~Kenna ❤

Leave a Reply

